Sunday, October 11, 2009

It's Ours!

I know it's been awhile since I posted. No excuses except I've been busy and had the flu.

Soooo here's the news! We closed on our house on the 23rd. Everything went very smoothly. Our payment ended up being $600 until the end of the year which is awesome! The closing itself only took about 20 minutes and there wasnt nearly as much stuff to sign as I thought there would be!

Now we are in the process of fixing the house up before we move in. We are shooting for a Nov 17th moving date. Should be interesting considering I am trying to start back on lots of OT. That means Ron has to give up more WoW (World of Warcraft) time and while he's not super happy about it, he has agreed to do it.

All the renovations we are doing will be green or eco friendly. So far we have gotten the living room walls painted with Fresh Aire paint from Home Depot. Just a little note about that. If you want to go low/no voc on your paint then go to Lowes and get their Olympic paint. They have a much better color selection and the price is about half the cost of Fresh Aire. Click HERE to learn more about low/no VOC paint.

We have also purchased our first fridge. YAY! It's an LG Energy Star Bottom Freezer Fridge in stainless steel. That will be delivered on 10.20.09 and I cant wait!

That's all for now but I promise to try to update more frequently and even post some pics as we go along!

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Getting closer!

Well we close next wednesday! Today we went over with the home inspector to make sure all the repairs we requested to be done have actually been done like the seller said.

They arent.

Granted, most are. But they put the dryer vent to vent into the crawlspace which is a great way to get mold growing. They also didnt replace the silplate. They also didnt completely fix the heating flu thing (not sure on that part. Ron knows more about it then I do) I'm a bit irritated that they would say those things are done when they arent. We didnt give them a long list of things to do and then they lie and say they have done things they havent done? Or half ass do things. Nope. Not going to fly.

At this point I dont trust them to do them any longer and I am not paying the inspector another $100 to come check it again. I want the money to fix them and we'll have it done ourselves.

I've also decided, if we can swing it financially, that I'd like to have professional cleaners come give the house a once over. Clean the walls and such. Not sure yet how much that will cost but hopefully we can afford it.

That's about all of the update I have for now.

Friday, August 21, 2009

Update Update Update

Not much has really been happening lately then today several things. First Ron and I decided to head out to home depot to check out tile for the kitchen and just get ideas for other things we want to do to the house. Now since day one Judith has told me dont buy anything because it's a jinx and it wont work in the new house. Today I bought a door pull for the kitchen cabinets, that Ron and I agreed on. It was $4.39 with tax. Not much.

Then I get home and suddenly my blackberry is chirping with all the email coming in. I had an email from someone at the mortgage lender (not sure who) and an email from Chad (the mtg person I've been talking to), the title company, and 2 from State Farm (insurance company). I thought for sure I'd jinxed us by buying that darn door pull.

Fortunately I had not. The email from the mtg lendor was for information that is already, mostly, enroute to them. The email from Chad was for me to call him to explain the email from the other person at the mtg lendor. State Farm wanting the appraisal. The title company sent the appraisal. Yay appraisal!

It appraised for 88900 and we are buying it for 72900. I like those numbers. Comps in the area have gone anywhere from 50k up to 119k. I think that once we do the improvements we have been talking about we could definitely get much more for the house then what we paid. I am going to be keeping a detail log of every penny we spend on the house to see just how much we put into it.

I am tired. I have slowed down on the OT a little bit the past couple of days because I am just absolutely worn out. Fortunately we will have the downpayment with my next check even if I dont work anymore OT. Right now I'm working for things like paint and flooring. *LOL*

I do have grand plans for the house. I am very much looking forward to getting the keys and starting to get things done. First thing I'd like to do, especially if they have not removed anything from the house, is have a garage sale. It's kind of a pain to bring stuff from the apt to the house but it's easier to have a garage sale at the new house. Is it silly that I'm excited to have a driveway and garage that I can have a garage sale in? I'm really excited about that.

I'm such a goof. But I'm an excited, soon to be, homeowning goof. ;)

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Inspection

I was so tired yesterday I completely forgot to post about the inspection.

We had the inspection yesterday morning. It went well. As we expected there were lots of issues but nothing major. Most everything was quite small. The house inspector was very nice and put up with my silliness and spent a long time going over each bit of the inspection report to make sure we understood it.

Our main concern when we left was the roof. Judith got in touch with the seller right away and found out the roof had been fixed and just hadnt done the cosmetic work inside. Cool!

She also sent a list today of other issues to be addressed. Quite a few items but nothing major. The seller has agreed to fix everything on this list. Woohoo!

We also got our interested locked in at 5.45% today. That's less then it was 3 wks ago. again WOOHOO!

The past two days have been nervewracking but ultimately great!!

Monday, August 10, 2009

Financials are done!

Yes! Just got the email from Chad and financials look good. I was concerned because I was part time last year after my back surgery.

Gosh I feel elated right now.

*does a little dance*

Nerves are shot...

Ok not sleeping at all because I'm thinking about the house. Today I finally got my w2s and paystubs over to the mortgage company. I have a preapproval but now there may be a problem with my debt/income ratio. Problem being that I have to count Ron's debt but I cant include his income without including his credit.

Ugh. I'm so nervous they are going to say no. Especially considering I'm about to drop $425 for the inspection on the house tomorrow.

Yes, I'm a nervous wreck.

Thursday, August 6, 2009

It's almost done

Ok there are lots of things still to do but we dropped off the final signed offer papers and the earnest money and options money today. The sellers only changed a couple of things on our original offer so we accepted their counter and we are good to go!!

Today we got in touch with State Farm to get information on the insurance we need to have. They will be getting back in touch soonish. Since they need to speak with our mtg lendor and he's out of town until Monday it will probably not be until then.

Tuesday we have the inspection and I am really looking forward to that. Ron will be there for the technical stuff and I'll be there for the "ohhh pretty" stuff. *G*

I have to say I am super excited but I'm beyond exhausted and will be so glad when we are sitting comfortable on the couch in our new house.

Closing date is set for Sept 23rd. That seems so far away and yet right around the corner!!